My partner Simran and I chose this topic for genius hour because we have always wanted to try and tie dye, what better opportunity then this? My friend has made tie dye shirts before and I’ve always wanted to make my own. Simran and I are very excited and looking forward to making our own shirts. Although it’s defiantly not as easy as we thought it would be. We researched how to tie dye and watched many YouTube videos of people tie dying. We discovered many different techniques to make all different unique designs. One technique was to roll the shirt up like you roll up a piece of paper and then add rubber bands one inches apart to create a striped tie dye.  I’m defiantly going to try and do this one.

Our biggest resource has been the internet of course. Google images, YouTube for sure, and also different websites that tell you step by step on how to tie dye. For example; http://www.dharmatrading.com/techniques/tiedye/tie-dye-instructions.html this website helped a lot. One question Simran and I have is what colors we should use? There are so many we can choose from! The biggest challenge for our topic is the fact we need to work on this on our own time, which means taking time out of our own time to work on this project. We will try our best to undergo it by working on weekends and balancing out our schedules. 




Leave a Reply.